Repossession Laws - Repo Laws - Logo

Maine Repossession Laws - Repo Laws



Because the Repossession Laws - Repo Laws may change from time to time, please check the Maine Courts website for updated and complete Repossession Laws - Repo Laws in Maine.



Repossession Laws - Repo Laws in Maine:


Where do I refer to for Title or License Registration?

For state Title and License Information, refer to:


*Repossession Companies must be licensed as debt collectors with Maine Bureau of Consumer Protection.


Maine Motor Vehicle Division

State House, Station 29, Title Section

Augusta, Maine 04333


Telephone: (207) 822-6400


Fee for search of records is $4.00.


Security Interests:

Shown on title held by lienholder.


Recording Requirements:

Recorded with Clerk of municipality in which debtor lives; or if non-resident, where property is at time of sale. Uniform Commercial Code adopted December, 1964. Recorded with Secretary of State for 1975 models on.

Recovery Requirements:

As per the UCC, repossession is allowed and permitted as long as it is peaceful, after fourteen day Right to Cure Letter from lienholder to debtor. Recovery agents are licensed by the State. Recovery must be made under the Right to Cure law, giving a debtor a 14 day notice prior to repossession. The right to cure law is not invoked if the debtor does not carry the required insurance or if the debtor has fled the contractual state.

Redemption Requirements:

Ten day redemption.

Deficiency Requirements:

Judgment notes are valid and no statutory provisions resulting in force so assumption is that deficiency is enforceable if permitted by lien instrument.

Special Motor Vehicle Provisions:

No provisions.

Documents Required to Transfer Ownership of Motor Vehicle:

For 1974 and older models: License registration certificate in lienholder's name. Certified copy of lien instrument, certified copy of contract, notarized Bill of Sale and Power of Attorney. For 1975 and newer models: Certificate of Title and supporting documents.


Documents Required for Liquidation:

Title and Repossession (MVT-15).



Remain with the owner / debtor, and may be transferred to another vehicle.


All recovery requirements and fees are current as of 2002. does not warrant the accuracy of these Repossession Laws - Repo Laws or recovery requirements. The Repossession Laws - Repo Laws or recovery requirements listed on are only a starting point for reference, and are not meant to be legal advice or a replacement for legal console. Please consult a repo company in your area, county, or state if you have any questions about repossession there.

Maine repo companies