Repossession Laws - Repo Laws - Logo

New Mexico Repossession Laws - Repo Laws



Because the Repossession Laws - Repo Laws may change from time to time, please check the New Mexico Courts website for updated and complete Repossession Laws - Repo Laws in New Mexico.



Repossession Laws - Repo Laws in New Mexico:


Where do I refer to for Title or License Registration?

For state Title and License Information, refer to:


New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division

P. O. Box 1028

Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504


Telephone: (505) 827-2220


Fee for search of records is $1.10.

Security Interests:

Shown on title held by lienholder.


Recording Requirements:

Per the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) adopted in September, 1962: With County Clerk in county where property is situated or is about to be removed. All liens on motor vehicles must appear on certificate of title.

Recovery Requirements:

As per the UCC, repossession is allowed and permitted as long as it is peaceful. If repossession discussed with debtor the secured party must give a ten day notice otherwise peaceful repossession permitted.

Redemption Requirements:


Deficiency Requirements:

Only if contract permits repossession, sale and deficiency.

Special Motor Vehicle Provisions:

No provisions.

Documents Required to Transfer Ownership of Motor Vehicle:

Title certification in lienholder's name; certified copy of contract; notarized Power of Attorney; notarized Bill of Sale.


Documents Required for Liquidation:

Title Release of Lien, Affidavit of Repossession, and Bill of Sale.



Remain with the owner / debtor. "The registered owner of the vehicle, upon transfer of ownership, is responsible for removing the license plate from the vehicle to be sold or traded in.  The owner has 30 days to either place it on another vehicle of the same class or have it cancelled by the Division" From


All recovery requirements and fees are current as of 2002. does not warrant the accuracy of these Repossession Laws - Repo Laws or recovery requirements. The Repossession Laws - Repo Laws or recovery requirements listed on are only a starting point for reference, and are not meant to be legal advice or a replacement for legal console. Please consult a repo company in your area, county, or state if you have any questions about repossession there.

New Mexico repo companies